HeadlinesMaritime SecurityNews

Nigeria loses IMO council election for fourth Time



Ayobami Adedinni

Nigeria has lost the chance of a seat in the Category C of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) council for the fourth time.

Nigeria had contested and lost the same election in 2011, 2017, 2019 and now lost the same election for the fourth time.

The winners are Kenya, Malaysia, Malta, Bahamas, Belgium, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Indonesia, Jamaica, , Mexico, Morocco, the Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Thailand, Turkey and Vanuatu.

The council is the executive organ of IMO and is responsible, under the assembly, for supervising the work of the organization.

Between sessions of the assembly, the council performs the functions of the assembly, except that of making recommendations to governments on maritime safety and pollution prevention.

Category A nations are: China, Greece, Italy, Japan, Norway, Panama, the Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Category B has 10 country, described as nations with “the largest interest in international seaborne trade”

They include: Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and the United Arab Emirates

The newly elected council are expected to meet, following the conclusion of the 32nd Assembly, for its 126th session.

© 2021, maritimemag. All rights reserved.

IMO Council seat: Stakeholders demand apology from NIMASA for serial losses 

Previous article

Maritime workers express nostalgia for Hassan Bello

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Headlines