HeadlinesPorts Management

Group berates CRFFN board members over tenure elongation

Why CRFFN has failed to deliver on its mandate


—-may sue council members

Segun Oladipupo.   |.

A group of port activists in the maritime industry, Save Nigeria Freight Forwarders Importers Exporters Coalition (SNFFIEC), has expressed dissatisfaction over the sit tight  syndrome of the governing board members of the Council for the Regulations of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) despite tenure expiration.

The group tasked the board members of the Council to return government properties in their possessions to the headquarters of the agency, saying it is illegal for members of the governing Council to  perpetuate themselves in office after expiration of their tenure in 2020.

Recall that the present Council members were inaugurated by the Minister of Transportation, Hon. Rotimi Ameachi  in October, 2018 for a two-year term in office.

But since their term ended last year, the members have engaged in series of inordinate moves to elongate their stay in office.

One of such moves was the push for the amendment to the Act of the Council where they sought for 4- year term.

This has drawn the irk of critical stakeholders who accused them of insincerity.

Speaking on the development,  Coordinator of the group, Osita Chukwu Patrick,  reiterated that the governing board of the council  failed to address issues affecting freight forwarding practice since inception of the inauguration.

Osita told newsmen that moves were ongoing to drag CRFFN to court over tenure expiration of the governing board members, noting that federal government has failed to effectively monitor activities of the agency from the onset.

According to him, official vehicles belonging to the council should be withdrawn from the officials with immediate effect,  adding that the properties are not owned by council’s members but the federal government.

Citing relevant section of the Act establishing CRFFN, he maintained that: “There shall be a Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council who shall be nominated and elected by members of the Council and shall each hold office for  a term of two years from the date of election, and the Chairman shall preside at  the meetings of the Council, so however that in the event of the death, incapacity or inability for any reason of the chairman, the Vice-Chairman shall act as Chairman for the unexpired portion of the term of Office.”

He disclosed that plans are afoot to honour , a chieftain of National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF) Mr. Godfrey Nwosu for challenging the council ‘s activities.

They described Nwosu, Secretary, Tin Can Island Chapter, NAGAFF as a courageous freight forwarder that must be commended for his doggedness and transparency .

Osita also blamed the Minister of Transportation, over poor scrutinization of CRFFN activities, adding that the leadership of the council lack the required vision and knowledge to empower freight forwarders and must not be seen parading themselves in office.

© 2021, maritimemag. All rights reserved.

Presidential Task Team on Apapa traffic gricklock signs off

Previous article

How 10 firms export $57.74m goods in one month—-CBN

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Headlines