HeadlinesPorts Management

CRFFN board: Ministry schedules election one year after tenure expiration 


Segun Oladipupo

One year after expiration of term, the Ministry of Transportation has scheduled elections into the governing board of the Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) for 8th October, 2021.

In a circular made public and signed by the Electoral Committee Chairman, A. D. Suleiman, the fifteen professional members would be drawn from Western port, Eastern port and Airports/ land borders.

The circular however did not harp on election based on association as it stated that five members would emerge from Western port, five members from Eastern port and five members from cargo airport/land border posts.

This arrangement is a departure from what obtained in the last election where associations produced candidates irrespective of their areas of operation.

Recall that the present board members have contested their duration in office as they maintained that their term was four years as opposed to the two year term the Ministry claims.

As the election of the new board is slated for October, operational vehicles assigned to the outgoing ones are yet to be returned to the Council.

“Sequel to the expiration of the two year tenure of the Governing Board of the Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN), the Honourable Minister of Transportation, Rt. Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi has constituted an electoral committee to conduct the election into the Governing Board of the Council. This is in line with the powers conferred on him by Section 2 (1) (f) of the CRFFN Act 2007.

“According to a Public Notice issued in Abuja on Thursday by the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, A.D. Suleiman, the Act Provides that an elected or appointed member of the Governing Council shall hold office for a period of two (2) years beginning from the date of the election or appointment as applicable.

“The notice recalled that Section 2(1) (g) of the enabling Act states that that five persons to be elected from amongst registered freight forwarders operating in each of the following zones: Western Ports – 5, Eastern Ports – 5, Cargo Airports/Land Borders – 5.

“It went on to inform all eligible registered freight forwarders that the Electoral Committee would commence the election process as contained in the timetable as follows:

“Nomination Form: 6th –17th September, 2021; Collection and submission of completed nomination forms shall be within ten (10) days from 10am to 4pm daily in the following locations: Lagos – Council for Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) No. 1 Joseph Harden Street, Marina, Lagos (contact Mrs. ogwuche-Obe Ene Helen – staff of the Ministry, Phone – 08033071392).

“Abuja – Federal Ministry of Transportation, Maritime Services Department, 4th Floor, Central Business Area, Abuja (contact: Solomon Zaks, 3rd Floor, Phone – 08035891726).

“Port-Harcourt – Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) office, Behind Wesham Filling Station, Camp Round About, Onne/Eleme Road, Onne, Port-Harcourt, Rivers State (contact: Mrs. Nwosu J. Uchechi – Staff of the Ministry, Phone – 08060621320).

“The notice further stated that screening of candidates will hold in Lagos 21st – 22nd September, 2021 while that of Abuja will hold on the 24th September, 2021 from 10am t0 4pm daily. According to the notice, screening of candidates from the Western and Eastern ports will hold at the Rock View Hotels, Apapa on 21st and 22nd of September, 2021 from 10am to 4pm daily while screening of candidates from cargo airports/ land borders will hold at the Federal Ministry of Transportation Conference Room, 8th Floor, Abuja on Friday 24th September, 2021 from 10am to 4pm.

“While accreditation of candidates holds on 7th to 8th October, 2021 in Abuja, the display of contestants’ list will be on the 8th October, 2021 at the venue of the election, CRFFN office Abuja and Federal Ministry of Transportation office Abuja respectively.

“The election, according to the notice, is scheduled to hold on the 9th October, 2021 at the National Women Centre, opposite CBN Headquarters, Abuja.

“It went on to state that deadline on receipt of complaints arising from the election is scheduled to hold on Monday 11th October, 2021 while decision on all complaints received will be on Tuesday 12th October, 2021.

“The notice advised all interested freight forwarders registered with the CRFFN to pay a non-refundable fee of five hundred thousand Naira (N500,000) for the nomination form into the CRFFN number and nomination form will be issued on presentation of receipt of payment at the designated points of the two operational zones of the Council and the Federal Ministry of Transportation as indicated above.

“It provided the account details as follow:

“Account Name: Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) TSAA AccountNumber: 0020494461014G GIFMISCODE: 0229006001

“In view of the above, all registered freight forwarders should adhere strictly to the election time table by this publication of notice. Also note that guidelines for the conduct of the election would be given at the point of collecting nomination forms”, the notice reads in part,” the circular read in full.

© 2021, maritimemag. All rights reserved.

NIMASA seeks collaboration with FDFA on safety of fishing vessels

Previous article

COMTUA condemns high cost of E call-up system

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Headlines