HeadlinesPorts Management

MWUN, NARTO form alliance against arbitrariness in ports 


Segun Oladipupo

Maritime Workers’ Union of Nigeria (MWUN) and the Nigerian Association of Road Transport Owners (NARTO) on Wednesday entered into a collaboration to further manage the menace on port access roads on Nigeria.

The collaboration is also intended to cater for the welfare of members of both parties as well as help members against discrimination by security agencies

Among the terms of reference of the collaboration include establishing the presence of both parties in all dry ports, Seaports and jetties across the Nation.

It is also intended to create driver/dockworkers welfare, revenue generation, protection of members of both organisations and creation of insurance for Workers’ welfare scheme.

Speaking during the inauguration of the committee, President General of the Maritime Workers’ Union of Nigeria (MWUN), Comrade Adewale Adeyanju called on the management committee members to learn from the mistakes of past failed collaboration to drive the initiative to a success.

He also charged both organisations to be focused and utilise the opportunity judiciously for maximum benefits of the members

On his part, National Chairman of NARTO, Alhaji Yusuf Lawal Othman expressed delight over the collaboration while expressing confidence in the success of the venture.

He also challenged the management committee members to observe due diligence in the course of carrying out their assignments.

The followings were selected as the Board of Trustees of the venture: Alhaji Yusuf Lawal Othman, Comrade Prince Adewale Adeyanju, Ibrahim Ohize, Abubakar Bello, Patrick Onyegbulen, Ifeanyi Mazeli

Others include; Aloga Ogbogo, Kasim Ibrahim, Salami Ganiyu and Ogunyele.

For successful driving of the collaboration, a management committee of twelve members drawn from both organisations was immediately constituted

Members include; Stephen Okafor as Chairman, Abdullahi Eroje as Co-Chairman, Ajayi Ayokunle as the Secretary while Hananiya Anderson will serve as Assistant Secretary

Other members are: Ibrahim Ohize, Abubakar Bello, Kayode Odunowo, Patrick Oyegbulem, Akeem Ekundayo, Elder Basset Udoh, Abdullahi Inuwa and Cecilia Otobo.

© 2022, maritimemag. All rights reserved.

We are no longer part of the protest against VIN valuation- Tanko Ibrahim, NAGAFF 100% Compliance Coordinator 

Previous article

Congestion looms at PTML, five Star Logistics Over Agents’ Strike 

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Headlines