FG approves four international airports as special economic zones



Chinazor Megbolu

The Federal Government has approved four airports in the country as special economic zones (SEZs).

The Minister of Aviation, Senator Hadi Sirika said this on his twitter account on Thursday, that SEZs are areas in the country that offers economic advantages such as tax incentives and the opportunity to pay lower tariffs, to businesses.
The airports are; Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos; Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano; Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja and Port Harcourt International Airport, Rivers state.
“I am very glad to announce that Mr. President has approved our four International Airports as Special Economic Zones. These are Lagos, Kano, Abuja & Port Harcourt. Our roadmap working.
He also noted that the new national carrier will commence operation in the first quarter of 2022.
Sirika added that the Covid-19 pandemic had forced postponement of the planned date for the establishment of the national carrier which was initially slated for the end of 2021.
He, however, said the airline is potentially positioned to cater to millions of travelers in Nigeria and Africa.

© 2021, maritimemag. All rights reserved.

Vandalism: Navy chides NNPC over 200,000 barrels crude oil theft

Previous article

SWAIMS  collaborates with NPA for robust maritime security and safety.

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Aviation