FG announces repatriation of Nigerians on completion of jail terms


Chinazor Megbolu     |   

The Federal Government of Nigeria had announced the repatriation of Nigerians who have completed their jail terms in different countries.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mallam Boss Mustapha disclosed this, saying the United States of America (USA), United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Egypt may repatriate  Nigerian citizenry who have completed prison terms in their countries. 

Speaking during the Presidential Task Force on Covid-19 (PTF) briefing in Abuja,  he noted the repatriation is different from the airlift of Nigerians stranded abroad.

The SGF said the usual evacuation flights for stranded Nigerians in foreign countries will come to an end on August 22, 2020.

According to him; “a number of countries have signified intention to repatriate Nigerians convicted, pardoned and paroled. They include the UAE, Egypt and the United States of America.

“Coming in the midst of our national response to Covid-19, all relevant agencies of government are taking multi-sectoral steps to ensure that the process remain within acceptable international protocols and in line with bilateral agreements.

“For the purpose of clarity, this should be distinguished from normal evacuation flights and we wish to state that all evacuation flights will end on August 22, 2020 after which airports will be given sufficient time to prepare for reopening.

“The world had its highest daily increase of 294,237 confirmed cases on Sunday, bringing the total to 22.4million, with a cumulative death of 771,000.

“These statistics are daily reminders that humanity is still endangered by this virus. We are also reminded that the countries that appeared to have overcome the pandemic are actually being forced to re-introduce even stricter containment measures”.

© 2020, maritimemag. All rights reserved.

NEPZA pledges to stimulate international patronage of  LADOL free zone

Previous article

APFFLON kicks against decision of CRFFN to stop further accreditation of new associations.

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Headlines